New Book – New Subject – My First Novel

Having written about LAPD for many years, including Guardians of Angels: A History of the Los Angeles Police Department, I wanted to try my craft at writing a military thriller. After all, many of us are military veterans, including me, having served in Vietnam in 1967-68. I love the military as much as I love cops worldwide. We at LAPD fight to protect the citizens of LA while the military does the same for our country. We have much in common.

Sea of Red is my debut novel about a war between the U.S. and China over Taiwan. It took me two years of painstaking research to get it right: The weapons, the aircraft, ships, submarines, the soldiers, you name it, I researched it. Judging from my early reviews, it seems I got it right.

AWARD FINALIST 2023 in Techno Thrillers from American Fiction Awards

“An adrenaline-fueled military thriller…with fast-paced action and a gripping narrative…a thrilling ride from start to finish…5 out 5 stars.” –OnlineBookClub

“A timely, powerhouse military thriller…highly recommended.” BestThrillers

“This is a book for true military buffs. A military thriller with…high stakes. –Kirkus Reviews

“Right from the first page, Bultema makes it clear to audiences that this is no ordinary thriller…In this sweeping saga…Strong-willed characters and nonstop action…makes for a battle royale that exhilarates all the way to the end.” –US Review of Books

If you are interested in my new book, you can order it here on Amazon (eBook, softbound and hardbound), or click here, if you want a signed copy from me. A special thank you to all who have supported me through my writing, starting with that first arrest report in 1970.

Jim Bultema, 16105

Leave a comment