Retired Captain III Arthur W. “Art” Sjoquist #11677 EOW

I sure am sorry to hear of Art passing on. A great historian. I worked with him for the 1984 Department yearbook, which contained a history of the LAPD. We had a small committee, but I believe we did a heck of a job writing it. He was a good teacher starting with his Master Thesis he wrote for college on the Department’s history, a first since the 1930s. From this experience, in 2019 I wrote, Guardians of Angels: A History of the LAPD. And I should also mention we both enjoyed, no, loved tennis. A great man who left his legacy through history. He’s probably talking about it right now with anyone who will listen, including his favorite, Chief Parker.

Jim Bultema, 16105

3 thoughts on “Retired Captain III Arthur W. “Art” Sjoquist #11677 EOW

Leave a comment